Our Staff

Doug Gorby
Phone: 517-351-8286 / Mobile: 517-388-5258 / Fax: 517-351-1443
E-mail: douglas_gorby@fws.gov

Greg Soulliere
Science Coordinator
Phone: 517-351-4214 / Fax: 517-351-1443
E-mail: greg_soulliere@fws.gov

Anna Sidie-Slettedahl
Assistant Coordinator
Phone: 612-713-5129 / Fax: 612-713-5393
E-mail: anna_sidie-slettedahl@fws.gov

Mohammed Al-Saffar
Bird Conservation Modeler
Phone: 517-351-8334 / Fax: 517-351-1443
Email: mohammed_al-saffar@fws.gov

“We abuse land because we see it as a commodity belonging to us. When we see land as a community to which we belong, we may begin to use it with love and respect.”

– Aldo Leopold

Management Board

Shawn Graff
Vice President, Great Lake Region
American Bird Conservancy

Nathaniel Miller
Director of Conservation, Upper Mississippi Flyway,
National Audubon Society
Audubon Great Lakes

Jason Hill
Director of Conservation Programs
Ducks Unlimited

Mark Alessi
Chief, Division of Wildlife Resources
Illinois Department of Natural Resources

Mitch Marcus
Chief, Division of Fish and Wildlife
Indiana Department of Natural Resources

Todd Bishop
Chief, Wildlife Bureau
Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Steve Chadwick, Chair
Assistant Chief, Wildlife Division
Michigan Department of Natural Resources

Ricky Lien
Wetland Habitat Team Supervisor
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Mike Schroer
Wildlife Management Chief – MO River Unit
Missouri Department of Conservation

Christopher Stein
Chief, Heritage Areas and Partnerships
National Park Service

Greg Kidd
Assistant State Conservationist – Easements
Natural Resources Conservation Service

Ted LaGrange, Vice Chair
Wetland Program Manager
Nebraska Game and Parks Commission

Dave Sherman
Wetland Habitat Coordinator
Ohio Division of Wildlife

Erin Holmes
Illinois State Coordinator
Pheasants Forever and Quail Forever

Michele Kille
Conservation Grants Manager
The Nature Conservancy

Andrew Forbes
Deputy Chief, Midwest Migratory Bird Program
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Tracy Grazia
Eastern Region Wildlife Program Manager
U.S. Forest Service

Mark Gaikowski
Director, Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences Center
U.S. Geological Survey

Kent Van Horn
Chief, Bird and Habitat Section
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

Science Team

Greg Soulliere, Chair

The JV Science Team is comprised of four bird group committees (Waterfowl, Landbirds, Waterbirds, and Shorebirds) plus an 11–person JV Technical Committee. The bird-group committees are ad-hoc, providing expertise for planning and evaluation as needed, whereas the Technical Committee is a standing committee in the JV by-laws. In addition to the duties related to the bird-group committees, JV Technical Committee members are responsible for reviewing, ranking, and providing funding recommendations for research and monitoring projects to fill formation gaps in our science program and to test planning assumptions via the annual Joint Venture Flex Fund Grant Program.


John Coluccy, Co-Chair (DU)*
Jake Straub, Co-Chair (UW-SP)*
Mike Eichholz (SIU)*
Robert Gates (OSU)*
Heath Hagy (FWS-MB)
Dave Luukkonen (MI DNR)*
John Simpson (WPMC)
Greg Soulliere (FWS-JV)*
Mitch Weegman (UMO)


Mike Monfils, Co-Chair (MI NFI)
Rachael Pierce, Co-Chair (FWS-MB)
Dan Holm, Co-chair (IL DNR)
Brian Loges (FWS-NWR)
Frank Nelson (MO DOC)*
Sarah Saunders (Audubon)
Rich Schultheis (KS PWT)*
Brendan Shirkey (WPMC)
Anna Sidie-Slettedahl (FWS-JV)
Greg Soulliere (FWS-JV)*
Linda Wires (UMn)


Vacant, Co-Chair
Vacant, Co-Chair
Mohammed Al-Saffar (FWS-JV)
Robert Gates (OSU)*
Ben O’Neal (Franklin College)
Brad Potter (USFWS-LCC)
Greg Soulliere (FWS-JV)*


Chris Tonra, Co-Chair (OSU)
Kelly VanBeek, Co-chair (FWS-MB)
Mohammed Al-Saffar (FWS-JV)
David Ewert (ABC)*
Erin Giese (UW-Green Bay)
Allisyn-Marie Gillet (IN DNR)
Shawn Graff (ABC)
Sarah Kendrick (MO DOC)
Katie Koch (FWS-MB)
Mark Nelson (USFS)*
Greg Soulliere (FWS-JV)*
Wayne Thogmartin (USGS)*
Mike Ward (IL NHS)
Tom Will (FWS-MB)

*also a JV Technical Committee member